by Christine Schaub

July 2006
ISBN: 0-7642-0060-7
Reviewer Graphic Button Bethany House Publishers
Trade Paperback

This is the second book in the Music of the Heart series. The hymn is Amazing Grace.

John Newton is a son of a merchant ship captain. He has very few choices in front of him. He becomes a slave trader. He also becomes a slave himself in the course of his career. He also shuns God, good deeds helping others; he is only interested in serving himself. His travels take him to the gold coast of West Africa to Newfoundland to the Atlantic.

Mary Catlett is fearful she will never see her dear friend John Newton. They have not seen much of each other, but they have written letters. She knows she must get on with her life; buts itís hard, what if he would return to her only to find out she is not available to be with him.

This is a journey of two souls, one needing to find deliverance, mainly from himself, the other keeping a love alive with every ounce of strength and willpower she has deep down inside. John and Mary also will learn to know God is always with his children, whether the children want him or not.

This book was great. It grabs you from the first page, and does not let go until the last. The author, Christine Schaub is a talented storyteller. Donít miss this book. Both books can be read independently of each other.

Reviewed in June 2006 by Pat.

Read more reviews of Christine Schaub books.Click Here