by Mariah Stewart

August 2005
ISBN: 0-345-48381-2
Reviewer Graphic Button Ballantine Books

Fans that discovered Stewart’s 2004 summer “Dead” trilogy will be thrilled to get this hardback release in their hands. Stewart’s hardcover debut will tie up any loose ends left behind.

Anne Marie McCall lost the love her life when her fiancée, Special Agent Dylan Shields was shot and killed. After spending two years burying herself in her own work for the F.B.I. as a profiler she suddenly discovers that sometimes love can hit just as hard the second time around. Anne is beginning to imagine a new life with Detective Evan Crosby.

However, it soon becomes obvious to both Anne and Evan that they’ll never have a chance at happily ever after until Dylan’s death can finally be put in the past.

Dylan Shields case in now considered closed and it seems when Anne sets out to open the file she’ll open a hornet’s nest of her own. Ever determined Anne will ignore the warnings of the F.B.I., friends, and family in order to find out what really happened.

Anne’s determination to find the killer will soon reveal a web of deceit, lies, and betrayal. As each step takes her closer to the killer she is putting her own life at greater and greater risk.

After anxiously anticipating yet another book in this series I was a bit disappointed with the actual read. I had difficulty digging through a portion of the politics and corruption that made up a large portion of this story. While I was anxious for Anne to solve the case, I was also disappointed in the lack of romantic appeal.

After reading the first books in quick succession it was also a bit hard to remember all the details a year later.

Reviewed in October 2005 by Shelby.

Read more reviews of Mariah Stewart books.Click Here