JUST BETWEEN US
by Cathy Kelly

January 2006
ISBN: 0-7434-9026-6
Reviewer Graphic Button Downtown Press
Trade Paperback
Rating:



Rose should be happy. It is Christmas Eve, her family is together and she and her husband, Hugh, will soon be celebrating their fortieth anniversary. Her contented state of mind is damaged when she receives a mysterious call from a strange woman asking for Hugh.


The daughters in this close Irish family have their own issues and problems. Stella is divorced and trying to raise her daughter Amelia. She meets Nick, who has is divorced, too. Nick is charming, but Stella wonders if they can have any sort of ongoing relationship with having to deal with his needy ex-wife and his angry daughter, Jenna.


Tara is the storyline editor for a popular soap opera, "National Hospital". Her star is rising in her career, but her personal life seems to be in shambles. Her husband Finn's social drinking seems to have become a more serious problem that has an impact on many facets of their lives.


Holly, the youngest daughter, works in the children's department at Lee's. Everyone wants to get her a boyfriend and she even endures the humiliation on speed dating.


Just Between Us is a cozy, leisurely read that will appeal to fans of Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher, but Ms. Kelly has her own unique voice. The readers will be engaged and feel they have become friends with the well developed characters in this captivating novel. The author takes an unblinking look at love, family dynamics and issues that affect woman at all ages. Find a cozy seat, get a warm drink and curl up with this gem of a book.


Reviewed in April 2006 by Roberta.

Read more reviews of Cathy Kelly books.Click Here