by Jane Graves

October 2004
ISBN: 0-345-45841-9
Reviewer Graphic Button Ivy Books
Mass Market Paperback

Light My Fire by Jane Graves is the fourth and final story in her DeMarco series. I’m confident that fans of the series have been awaiting this story with baited breath. For me however this was my first read by Jane Graves. If you are like me and not read the previous books in the series fear not…Light My Fire is a terrific stand alone book, and I don’t think will spoil the plot lines of the previous three books should you read as I did out of order.

Ethan Millner is a defense attorney with a great success rating, and client clamoring to be added to his client list, and more than willing to pay his fees for that privilege. Life for Ethan should be carefree, but the emotional baggage from his past is about to catch up to him a way he never would have expected.

Sandy DeMarco is an older heroine than what I think of as typical in a romance novel. She also is a woman who isn’t model thin. She’s single, a successful businesswoman and active in neighborhood watch groups. She’s also the court appointed supervisor of Ethan’s community service when he’s convicted on a charge of reckless driving.

Their first night together is going smoothly as far as nothing suspicious in the neighborhood, and they’re even finding that they enjoy the verbal sparring that they both seem unable to control. They might just make it through this experience.

Now the plot twists, and Ethan and Sandy discover a rather gruesome murder. When Josh, an employee of Sandy’s with a criminal record is accused Sandy is the only adult to stand by him. That is until she convinced Ethan to also come to Josh’s defense.

Jane Graves has done a wonderful job of combining strong romantic comedy elements with equally strong suspense elements. I’m sure the ending will surprise you as it did me. So, sit, relax, put your feet up, and ignore the clamoring of the family and read Light My Fire.

Reviewed in December 2004 by Sandi.

Read more reviews of Jane Graves books.Click Here