by Felicia Mason

February 2004
ISBN: 0-373-78511-9
Reviewer Graphic Button Steeple Hill
Trade Paperback

Caterer, Amber Montgomery is trying to escape the pain of an abusive relationship. With sixteen churches and a Norman Rockwell feel, the small town of Wayside, Oregon, seems the perfect place to start over. She opens a catering business and quickly gains a reputation for her fantastic honey pecan rolls and the local children know her as their beloved Cookie Lady.

Police Chief, Paul Evans hopes to escape from the violence and grit of his former life as an L.A. cop. When his brother and sister-in-law are brutally murdered, Paul realizes he needs to raise his young niece and nephew in a quiet, idyllic town. Wayside seems perfect.

When a catered party gets a little rowdy, Chief Evans is called in to break it up, and a simple misunderstanding causes him to haul Amber off to jail. The sleepy little town wakes up outraged at Amberís treatment. When these two adversaries find themselves working at the same church camp, both are forced to face fears theyíd rather ignore in order to save a life. Will they also find the courage and faith to find love?

Amber hates cops with a passion. In her opinion, they arenít to be trusted. Whenever Paul is at the same event as she, Amber quickly finds an excuse to leave. Paul is convinced that Amber has something to hide because of her reactions to him. Amberís fear of Paul and cops in general, is very well developed and believable. Paul is also very realistic in his actions and thoughts. The reader will feel the frustrations and pain of both Amber and Paul and will care deeply what happens to them.

Sweet Devotion is a great read. I picked it up and read it through in one sitting. The storyline held my interest and the pace was quick. Available February 2004, Sweet Devotion is an excellent book to pick up for a sweet Valentine read. Even though it is a sequel to Ms. Masonís, Sweet Accord, Sweet Devotion easily stands alone.

Reviewed in February 2004 by Laura.

Read more reviews of Felicia Mason books.Click Here