by Lori Copeland

February 2004
ISBN: 0-8423-1938-7
Reviewer Graphic Button Heart Quest
Trade Paperback

Patience is the sixth and final book in Lori Copelandís best-selling series Brides of the West, and it is a charming, inspirational tale, which was well worth the wait.

Patience reveals the life of its namesake, Patience Smith, a mail order bride, who is kidnapped by mistake. When an accident in the wilderness allows her to escape from her abductor, Patience makes her way to shelter, that refuge being a gold mine. There she meets a fellow orphan; a young boy named Wilson with whom she immediately bonds.

Believing there is a fortune to be found in the mine and needing a large sum to provide for herself, Wilson, and her single best friends, Patience decides to work the mine. Though her determination is strong, what she doesnít count on is the legendary ghost of Gamey OíKeefe scaring away all the potential miners. Even worse is Sheriff Jay Longer, the all too attractive man who has come to return her safely to her friends.

Jay has his own problems, and heís in a hurry to return Patience to her friends. The last place he wants to be is near a beautiful woman and a delightful young boy, who both remind him too much of all he has lost.

Two people, on two different paths. Can they meet? Itís going to take some time, forgiveness, and a whole lot of patience.

Patience is a witty, heartwarming novel finely polished with a stroke of suspense. The characters are unique and captivating. Wilson is a pleasant addition to the cast, and proves as always, that wisdom tends to come straight from the mouths of babes. Moses, though quiet and gruff, and Frank, the imitator, both show that what you see isnít always what you get. The attraction between Patience and Jay is sweet and tender yet extremely exciting.

Itís rare to find a book that tells a fresh story and puts a big smile on the readerís face. Itís even more unusual to find a book that also manages to stir the soul. Thanks to Lori Copeland, patience has been rewarded.

Reviewed in January 2004 by Natasha.

Read more reviews of Lori Copeland books.Click Here