by J. R. Ward

ISBN: 978-0-451-22821-5
Reviewer Graphic Button Signet Books
Mass Market Paperback

While Covet takes place in Caldwell, NY,it is not related to the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. One character is mentioned, but not even seen. So sit back and enjoy this intriguing first book in the new Fallen Angels series.

When Jim Herron dies after being electrocuted on a job site, he learns of his new role in saving humanity. The Demons and Angels have one last battle to determine manís fate, and theyíve tasked Jim with the challenge of winning, or losing. He must save seven people, one each from one of the seven deadly sins. Unfortunately heís not given much more information than that when heís sent back to earth.

Taking clues from the television and just playing it by ear the rest of the time, Jim hustles to figure out exactly what it is heís supposed to do. Heís convinced Vin diPietro is the man heís supposed to help or save, but from what? Thankfully heís given some unearthly help, even if he doesnít know it at first.

There is so much more I could say about this book, but I prefer to keep the details to a minimum. When I started this book I had no idea who the main characters were going to be, or where the story was going, and that made it much more fun to read, in my humble opinion. Hopefully most people who pick up this book will have done so without having too much spoiled beforehand.

J.R. Ward has proven sheís a force to be reckoned with, no matter what she writes. Jimís vulnerability is refreshing and seeing him having to learn as he goes makes readers feel as if they are part of the story. Canít wait to see which deadly sin is next.

Reviewed in October 2009 by Jackie.

Read more reviews of J. R. Ward books.Click Here