by Kasey Michaels

November 2008
ISBN: 978-0-373-77318-3
Reviewer Graphic Button HQN
Mass Market Paperback

The Sunshine sisters are at it again. Continuing to work on the cases their deceased father, Teddy Sunshine, left behind, they hope to find clues that will solve his death. The retired cop – turned PI – was working on something, and whatever he discovered was the motive for murder. The local police were eager to cover it up as a suicide, but the threats against the sisters continue as they get too close for someone's comfort.

For Jessica Sunshine, losing her father was devastating. As the middle child and daddy's “little princess” she adored her father. Seeing his reputation dragged through the mud has energized her into taking action. She may look like cotton candy on her television news program, but there is a barracuda underneath that feminine package.

Detective Matt Denby has learned that lesson the hard way. At first he was just trying to help the girls get through Teddy's death, but things don't add up. Now he is on “vacation” helping them try to find the real killer. Matt is also waging a private battle to derail his desire for Jessica. He is too old, too cynical for someone named Sunshine. Someone needs to tell Jessica that they really shouldn't be considering any deeper involvement. Really. Soon. Before his good intentions fly out the window.

Author Kasey Michaels resumes her trilogy with the second book, Mischief Becomes Her. I did not read the first book, but it was easy to get the picture of what had transpired. Ms. Michaels has an easy approachable writing style that informs without dull rehashing of events. I am pleased to see the resurrection of the Beckett family from her Romney Marsh series as part of the cast of characters. Two Beckets, Sam and Court, are involved with the other sisters, Jade and Jolie.

There is mystery aplenty in Mischief Becomes Her, and I cannot wait to see how all the pieces pull together in the final book.

Reviewed in December 2008 by Paula.

Read more reviews of Kasey Michaels books.Click Here