by Lynn Cote

October 2007
ISBN: 978-0-06-134994-2
Reviewer Graphic Button Avon Inspire
Trade Paperback

Blessed Assurance was originally published as three different novels. It has been repackaged for the first time in one edition.

In Whispers of Love Jessie Wagstaff is struggling to run the boarding house she’s inherited from her late husband’s mother. She’s stunned when Lee Smith arrives on her doorstep requesting a room, but she will not board to men. Lee insists on involving himself in her life anyway. He knows something he’s not telling.

In Lost in His Love, Jessie’s son, Linc, is all grown up and a social activist. He is fighting against child labor, but his main adversary is Cecilia Jackson, an heiress, who doesn’t seem to understand how dangerous the exploitation is. When Cecilia’s dark past is exposed, Cecilia must find the strength to go on.

In Echoes of Mercy, Meg Wagstaff challenges the racial boundaries of the 1920’s. She is trying to prove that a childhood friend didn’t murder anyone. Gabriel St. Clair is the prosecuting lawyer. Despite their many differences, sparks fly. And when Meg uncovers the truth, her life is in danger.

I love Lyn Cote’s books, and Blessed Assurance is just another example why. Each of the stories contains real historical events: the Great Chicago Fire, the 1906 earthquake in San Francisco, as well as on-going racial issues.

Blessed Assurance has realistic heroines, loveable heroes, and believable storylines as well as a strong faith message. I highly recommend all three of these stories, whether you read the books as individuals or if you buy this three-in-one reprint. Discussion questions are included, and the cover is beautifully done, making it ideal for gift giving.

Reviewed in November 2007 by Laura.

Read more reviews of Lynn Cote books.Click Here