by Claudia Mair Burney

January 2007
ISBN: 1-57683-979-6
Reviewer Graphic Button NavPress
Trade Paperback

Dr. Amanda Bell Brown is shocked when her ex-boyfriend, Lieutenant Jazz Brown, shows up at her front door. Jazz appears to want to reconnect and make their relationship work. Amanda isn’t real sure how she feels about that—especially when her sister calls minutes after Jazz’s arrival with the news that Jazz’s ex-wife was found murdered in his apartment.

Amanda slips on a pair of high heels and leaves, still in her pajamas, to go to the murder sight, leaving Jazz in her apartment. When she gets across town, she learns Jazz’s ex-wife has been strangled and placed in a degrading position on the bed, then covered with a sheet.

Jazz is the number one suspect, and Amanda is desperate to clear his name. Murder doesn’t seem something Jazz is capable of. But as she does some sleuth work on the side, the body count is raising. Will Amanda find the real murderer before she is another statistic?

Book two of the Amanda Bell Brown Mystery series, Death Deceit and Some Smooth Jazz easily stands alone. I was hooked in the early pages of the book and couldn’t put it down. I had to keep reading to find out who murdered Kate. I had my early suspicions, but an unexpected twist proved my theory wrong.

The faith message is expertly woven in, and is not intrusive. The characters were realistic developed, although at time, the dialog became a bit flat, or the characters behaved extremely immature. Otherwise, I loved Death Deceit and Some Smooth Jazz and am looking forward to reading book three in the series, Saints, Suspicions, and a Ticking Clock coming in August. A reader’s guide is included at the end Death Deceit and Some Smooth Jazz of making it ideal for reader groups.

Reviewed in January 2007 by Laura.

Read more reviews of Claudia Mair Burney books.Click Here